Lionel Messi wins FIFA Ballon d’Or 2015

Embedded image permalink


It is the Argentina international’s fifth World Player of the Year title – more than any other player in history – and thwarts Ronaldo’s quest to tie his haul of gongs, with the Madrid star having picked up the award in each of the last two seasons.

The Ballon d’Or award caps yet another remarkable year for Messi, who secured five trophies and a famous treble with Barcelona in a dominant 2015, ending the Catalan club’s four-year wait for another Champions League victory – his fourth title in Europe’s premier club competition.

Messi scored a remarkable 52 goals for club and country across the calendar year – five less than Ronaldo – as well as contributing 26 assists in 61 appearances, scoring or assisting every 0.78 games.

The 27-year-old first won the Ballon d’Or in 2009, before it merged with Fifa’s World Player of the Year award, and won it every year afterwards until 2012 when his stranglehold on the award was finally broken by


Manuel Neuer; Thiago Silva, Marcelo, Sergio Ramos, Dani Alves; Andres Iniesta, Luka Modric, Paul Pogba; Lionel Messi, Neymar, Cristiano Ronaldo

FIFA Women Coach of the Year nominees:


Jill Ellis – United States

Mark Sampson- England

Norio Sasaki – Japan

Women Coach of the Year:

Jill Ellis – United States

Men Coach of the Year nominees:

Related Posts
1 of 47,718

Pep Guardiola – Bayern Munich

Luis Enrique –  Barcelona

Jorge Sampaoli – Chile

Men Coach of the Year:

Luis Enrique

Women Player of the Year nominees:

Carli Lloyd – United States

Aya Miyama – Japan

Celia Sasic  – Germany

FIFA Fair Play award:

All those supporting refugees worldwide

Men Player of the Year nominees:

Lionel Messi – Argentina

Cristiano Ronaldo – Portugal

Neymar – Brazil



Join GLtrends On Whatsapp For Updates & Daily Giveaway

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.